Dogs from Ground Zero

Back in 2001, a few weeks after Sept. 11th, I was sent to photograph the dogs working at Ground Zero by Bark Magazine. I was living in Red Bank, NJ at the time so I took the train into the city and made my way down to Ground Zero. I knew it wasn’t going to be an easy assignment but I knew I had a job to do and I felt like all the experience I had up until that point, had prepared me for that moment. Part of the reason I was given the assignment is that I had photographed a book called “Working Dogs. Tales from Animal Planet’s K-9 to 5 World” (Discovery Books/Random House) in 2000, and several of the dogs featured in Working Dogs were search and rescue dogs.

Below are some of the photographs that I took on that day and that were published in Bark Magazine the Fall of 2001.

“Loki at WTC”

“Loki with Vets and Police Office Ulmer”

“Loki”

“NYPD Canine Unit Hat”

Additionally, my publishing company, Andrews McMeel, had asked if I had any photographs of dogs with the American Flag. I didn’t but I told them I would be honored to go out and take some. I took my dog Charlie around my neighborhood. It wasn’t hard finding American Flags in front of homes – almost every other house had one on their front porch. This picture is the result of that shoot. Charlie is no longer with us, like so many others that day. Here’s my tribute to them.

“Charlie with Flag”

Published in Dogma 2002 (Andrews McMeel Publishing)

Looking back at all of these photographs brings back all of the heartache and hope of those days following September 11th. I lost a friend that day. This post is dedicated to Jim Walsh, one of the nicest guys I ever met.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Dogs from Ground Zero”

  1. kimlevinphotography Says:

    oops didn’t mean to do that!!

Leave a Reply

