Welcome to the Kim Levin Photography Blog

This is my very first blog so I am really excited to get started on this new web adventure. I usually stick with what I am most comfortable with – taking photographs of dogs and cats. Tech savvy, I am not. Never have been. But it’s always good to get out of your comfort zone for a little while. My hope to cover a range of subjects I am interested in sharing – from new published works to my greeting card line to pet adoption events. But first, a little shameless self promotion.

MUSINGS on DOGPLAY

Well I am really excited to be promoting my new book Dogplay. The Canine Guide to Being Happy. And I figured what better way to start my first blog than with a preview of some images from the book. Photographing Dogplay was a lot of fun. My favorite part of any shoot is getting to know the dog and using my photography to bring out their unique personality.

Here’s the original shot of Blue, the yellow lab. I was actually looking for dogs to photograph in the snow. Who knew I was going to get the cover shot for my new book. Blue was hanging in his backyard and he was tossing around his plastic football. I knew when I took this shot that it was special special but I really didn’t know it would work well on the cover until I started editing the shots.

Here’s Monte – relaxing in his NYC apartment. What a beautiful boxer he is. Monte was only about a year old when I took his portrait. I tend to photograph dogs in their natural state – I don’t style too much. I just let the dogs be themselves and let the camera do the work.

Here’s another shot I really like from Dogplay. This is Kylie. We are at the beach in Narragansett, RI. Kylie is loving running and retrieving the stick. I like this shot because it captures how happy she is at the beach. After an hour or two of tossing the stick back and forth, Kylie finally got tired!

Dogplay hits bookstores nationwide March 2010. Buy a copy at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, or buy a signed copy from my e-store.

2 Responses to “Welcome to the Kim Levin Photography Blog”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Arline LoGioco Says:

    Kim. I love your blog. Very savy and tech and absolutely amazing photos of the dogs.
    Great luck to you. I will be following your updates.
    Arline

Leave a Reply

